Silex Restaurant & Weinbar

Freyastrasse 3, 8004 Zürich, Schweiz | 044 210 30 30 | Website

New since Nov. 2021 in Zurich at the Schmiede Wiedikon train station. Silex is French and means flint. The three founders Jean-Denis Roger, Julia von Meiss and chef George Tomlin describe their heart project as a 'fluid concept between wine bar and restaurant'. 

My conclusion: absolutely successful and fitting for Zurich. Beautifully realized in terms of design - in the entrance area you can first arrive in peace with a glass of natural wine. Jean-Denis will be happy to advise you. Then climb a few steps and you're in the restaurant, all completely open and connected to the kitchen. The menu is divided into snacks, small plates, large plates and dessert. 

Silex about itself:
We cook food and serve wines whose origins we stand behind. Our wines come from artisan producers who work with minimal intervention and manage their vineyards with respect for nature. Our food follows the same philosophy: we use products, farmers and suppliers that are sustainable and organic, with integrity and transparency. Our regularly changing menu is available both À la carte and tasting menu. 

My tipps:
Baked beets, salted mandarin & whitefish roe
Lamb tartare, dehydrated shio koji egg yolk & allumettes
Pappardelle with ragù of Duroc pork, chicken liver & gochujang
Jerusalem artichoke cooked in beer, roasted yeast & chestnuts
Quince semifreddo, salted caramel & crumble

 

Contact & Opening Hours

Freyastrasse 3
8004 Zürich, Schweiz
T: 044 210 30 30
E:
    Last updated: July 14, 2022, 2:41 p.m.

Menü
|

Silex Restaurant & Weinbar

Freyastrasse 3, 8004 Zürich, Schweiz | 044 210 30 30 | Website

Neu seit Nov. 2021 in Zürich am Bahnhof Schmiede Wiedikon. Silex ist Französisch und bedeutet Feuerstein. Die drei Gründer Jean-Denis Roger, Julia von Meiss und Chefkoch George Tomlin beschreiben ihr Herzensprojekt als ‚fluides Konzept zwischen Weinbar und Restaurant‘. ⁣
Mein Fazit: Absolut gelungen und passend für Zürich. Designtechnisch schön umgesetzt - im Eingangsbereich könnt ihr erstmal bei einem Glas Naturwein in Ruhe ankommen. Jean-Denis berät euch gerne. Anschliessend ein paar Stufen nach oben steigen und schon seid ihr im Restaurant, alles komplett offen und verbunden mit der Küche. Die Karte ist unterteilt in Snacks, Kleine Teller, Grosse Teller und Dessert. ⁣

Silex über sich:
Wir kochen Speisen und servieren Weine, hinter deren Herkunft wir stehen. Unsere Weine stammen von handwerklichen Erzeugern, die mit minimalen Eingriffen arbeiten und ihre Weinberge mit Respekt vor der Natur bewirtschaften. Unsere Speisen folgen der gleichen Philosophie: Wir verwenden Produkte, Landwirte und Lieferanten, die nachhaltig und biologisch arbeiten, mit Integrität und Transparenz. Unser regelmäßig wechselndes Menü ist sowohl À la carte als auch als Degustationsmenü erhältlich. 

Meine Tipps:
Gebackene Rüben, gesalzene Mandarine & Felchen Rogen⁣
Lamm Tartar, dehydriertes Shio-Koji Eigelb & Allumettes⁣
Pappardelle mit Ragù vom Duroc Schwein, Hühnchenleber & Gochujang⁣
Topinambur in Bier gekocht, geröstete Hefe & Marroni⁣
Quitten Semifreddo, Salted Caramel & Streusel⁣

Kontakt & Öffnungszeiten

Freyastrasse 3
8004 Zürich, Schweiz
T: 044 210 30 30
E: